Fired.


There, I said it. I was fired. From a great paying job at that. The worst part, however, is that I was fired over a stupid tiny mistake. I can understand where the company is coming from on this; however, I really do wish they had the ability to weigh their decisions and make them themselves sometimes.

Why did I get fired? I just didn’t think at all about the possibility of what I was doing was against policy. I opened up an order for my phone and added my email address to it. Then got out. The whole action was less than 30 seconds long.

I had a picture in my head that accessing your own account, which is against policy, meant accessing your account in the two systems we were using that gave you access to your account. Your actual account. Perhaps I had read the policy far too literally. Moreover, it had also been far too long since I read the policy since the ONLY time I’d heard it mentioned was back when I was first hired three years before.

From a company standpoint, if it can be proven there was no ill-intention on the part of the employee, where is the value in immediate termination without offering the opportunity to allow somebody to learn from their lessons — and perhaps teach others, so they don’t make the same mistakes?

It can easily be shown, based on my past actions, and the fact that all I did was update an email address, that I was NOT trying to scam or deceive T-Mobile. Everybody knows that I would never do that. I can’t even push policy to the limit.

Well, enough of my rant. In the end, its my fault — I should have been aware, and more importantly I should have thought deeper about the decision. I was just so excited to receive notification about their awesome product (The myTouch 4G!) that would be arriving soon I didn’t even stop to think. And, I’m normally known as the person who overthinks everything and takes little risk.

The real reason I’m starting this blog, however, is that I’m about to start an interesting journey in an attempt to look for work.

This doesn’t make me much different from anybody else out there, but the problem that I’m going to run into is that I have facial tattoos (my eyebrows are tattoo’d on in dots) and I have 7 facial piercings, and one visible neck tattoo.

Wish me Luck

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on December 11, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The Corporate Fascists are far worse than any Orwellian government. The fact they are legally aloud to spy on employees, tell them how to dress, and who they can or can’t date proves it.

    I don’t know where you live, but you would be best to apply at the more creative, hip, or unconventional type of companies. Even then, take out your piercings for a job interview and fill in your brows with some makeup. Once on the job, you can be more yourself, but first impressions do matter (as lame as that sounds) and you don’t want to give them a reason NOT to hire you based solely on appearance. You want to appear as neat and presentable as possible.

    Once they want you, gradually you can reveal more of the body art if the job allows, and many places are more used to it now, but initially it is a NO. Good luck!

    • Thank you.

      I once applied for a position at a company that had a STRICT policy on the dyeing of hair. It was so strict that if you went from light brown hair to dark brown hair you were required to take a week off to give “customers time to get used to the change”. I don’t completely understand that because if you take a week off, the next time they see you you’re still going to look different.

      I showed up to the interview as myself at the time — I didn’t have any visible tattoos or piercings at the time, but my hair was bright red with purple streaks. At the interview I was notified of this corporate policy and asked if I would be willing to dye my hair to a “natural” color if the position was offered to me.

      I politely said that I would not.

      When asked why, I confidently responded by quoting that the application I had filled out said that they will “not discriminate based on your race, color, national origin, sex, age, disability, religion, or political beliefs” and that “race” implied the color of my skin, so what does “color” imply. I also mentioned that my personality and level of intelligence is the same, regardless of the color of my hair and I have such a great personality and friendly disposition that I have not ever had a problem with my hair color. In fact, I am often stopped in grocery stores and wherever I go by people both young and old (more often than not its by those cute elderly women you just know is somebodys warm-hearted grandmother) to compliment me on my hair.

      The owner of the company was the one interviewing me. I got a call back the next day and was offered the position and that I would be able to look however I wanted to, and change it without having to take a break. I ended up declining the position because I was offered a graveyard shift at a security company that complimented the job I already had (I ended up working two full time jobs for about a month and a half). The owner countered my decline by offering me a higher wage, but I still declined.

      I had a friend who worked at this gas station, and was told that the owner couldn’t stop talking about me, and really wanted me to work there. She also mentioned that the rule on hair dyeing would have been waived only for me and everybody else would have been made to follow the rules.

      I am confident that many companies make the mistake of disregarding potentially amazing employees based on their outward appearance. This is a shame, because so many of us are more than capable of being the leaders the world needs. Having tattoos and piercings in no way implies that I do not care about my job. But, it sounds like you already know that.

  2. Wow, this sucks to hear. I recently lost my job ( company was going to get sued, so closed up shop, they called, and said “We’re no longer a company”. Awesome.) I understand this can be a VERY scary thing, but try and keep positive. You WILL find another job. Someone will be smart enough to look past the tats and piercinsg to see you would make a great employee.

Leave a Reply

