Holding Up the Sign of Desperation.


I am actually considering getting out the magic marker and holding a cardboard sign.

Not only was I fired in December, but my unemployment was at first accepted (which was very relieving – not enough to live on, but enough to scrape by on until I find a job), but then two weeks later the unemployment agency discovered they’d “made a mistake” and because I was fired for misconduct, my unemployment decision was reversed.

So I’m not just without income, but I also gained a $700 bill. I’m appealing that decision, but who knows how long that will take.

In addition, based on round-about numbers I gleaned from my last paystub and various forms I will not be getting a tax return this year. Instead I will owe.

As was commented on a previous blog, I’m definitely putting the effort out there to find a new job. Today alone I put in several applications, and its become my lifes purpose to find a job.

The trouble is, I don’t have the “3-5 years required experience in this totally random job that you couldn’t have experience in unless you’ve worked with us before”. Don’t get me wrong, if I feel I’m trainable for those positions without the decades of “required experience” — I’m applying. I’m pretty good at knowing what I’m trainable for. Honestly, I can be trained for anything.

I’m getting to the point I’m starting to look into apprenticeships of various degrees.

I have an interview tomorrow for an overnight seasonal position that starts in March. I can’t really wait until March for a job. I have house payments that are already late.

I don’t want to lose my house.

So, its time to pull out the cardboard and hold a sign on the side of the road.

I can use the cardboard from the boxes I’ll use to start packing for the inevitable move under to somewhere under an overpass.

But what should my sign say?

“Will work… No, I actually mean it.”

“Will work… much unlike that guy —> ”

“I want a job, not your change”

“Need Work to Support My Blog”

or the ever classic “Ninjas stole my daughter – need $$ for Karate”.

I’ll print up a few hundred resumes and contact cards and pass them out.

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on January 18, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

