Peaceful Serenity


edited image myself

Mt Baker 1.30.11

I took this picture about 3 miles from where I live. One of my favorite things to do when it starts to get warm out is to ride down this road on my bicycle [I drove, 34 degrees is too cold still].

Nothing is more refreshing than an all out ride pushing 16-18mph [hey, I’m new – thats way faster than the 8mph I started out at last year!] and staring at such a beautiful scenery. There’s something about being about to be alone with your thoughts and having enough time to finally understand and hear what you’re thinking. Thoughts tend to actually complete themselves when you’re not rushing to go from here to there and back again while remembering a huge list of things.

If you haven’t done it in awhile, get on your bike [get a wider seat if its been awhile since you rode – you’ll be more likely to get back on again], or go for a walk. As you walk just enjoy everything around you. Rain or shine. And I’m from the Pacific Northwest. I promise you won’t melt in the rain.

Take notice of the little things you wouldn’t notice otherwise.

I’ve seen a Garter Snake curled up in the sun on the side of the road – and caught it [always part tom-boy].

I’ve seen a young buck on the side of the road, stopped pedaling and slowly rolled up to him. He looked as curious about my bike as I was about him. He even let me pet his nose. The feeling of belonging that rushes through is indescribable. He took off when I car came by… but every time I roll through there I look for him. Just in case.

I’d NEVER seen a pheasant that wasn’t caged before. I finally did while riding my bike.

I’ve seen my reflection and realized how little I really needed to be happy.

I hope you see it, too.

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on February 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

