Dana…


One of the most asked questions regarding my tattoos and piercings (aside from “Did it hurt?” Which, by the way, Yes. Yes it did.) is why on earth I would do something like this to my body.

Today a friend of mine, who is actually my piercing artist, posted a picture. It is an awesome picture if you’re able to step back and really take it in. In the low-quality photo lies brilliance. Can you see it?

I clicked over to his webpage at http://draconianlife.com/ and found myself just admiring the picture he has posted there:

I realize that there are so many people who look at this and shudder, vomit silently, turn away quickly (okay, Dana I’ll stop 😉 ) without even taking the chance to see the handsome man right there. Those same people would stop to mention how great he would look without his modifications. No doubt about it, Dana is quite attractive.

Admittedly, its 2am right now and I suspect this blog to go through some editing tomorrow to fix it up and make my point a little clearer, but the main reason I wrote this blog is that I want to point out how much effort it takes to hold onto what you’ve been taught.

For me tattoos are not simply a pretty picture on my skin. Its a part of who I am, what I represent, and what I need you to see past in order to see the real me. I was taught that tattoos and even ear piercings are bad, something to be shameful of – and I was taught to judge others around me for their actions. Then I had a breakthrough. As a compassionate and loving human being I was having to defy the way that God built me in order to conform to society. I was wrong. And so are you.

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”  

– 1 Samuel 16:7

Are you willing to look past what you’ve been indoctrinated with in order to see the world through your own eyes?

It may take time, effort and practice to remember that we’re still people – – but I promise you, the worlds it will open for you are worth it.

If you don’t enjoy a heavily modified look, take a look again at the photo above. If you’re focusing solely on the parts you were taught to not like, you’re missing the parts that you do like. You have to willingly hold your focus on the wrong thing.

The same can be said of life. If you spend all of your time worrying about everything that’s going wrong, you’ll have no time at all to enjoy the beauty of all that is right in your world. And I promise you, no matter how bad your life seems at the second, there is ALWAYS something positive to see.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Funny thing. I’ve known you before and throughout the changes you have made, and aside from a couple empathetic shudders for the pain (because I’m a big wimp), the outward changes have never altered my feelings toward you. In all honesty, I hardly notice any change. You’re still the same wonderful, illuminating personality that you have always been. The ink and piercings are just part of your expression of who you are inside, so they make you more yourself than you would be without them. I’ve said to many people “I think she looks more beautiful now” because a little bit of your soul is showing. Haters will hate, those of us that love you…well…we are just happy to have you in our lives, and happy that you have found a way to show your heart to the world. It could use it.

Leave a Reply

