@Brendan_Hines Called Me An Idiot, and I didn’t even know who he was…


The other day I popped onto Twitter, something I like to do every now and then. I’ll randomly Tweet replies to people trying to insight thought into the world… or piss them off [which is really my true goal].

One of the first tweets I saw after the Seattle Pacific University shooting was this:

1

Anybody who knows me knows that I’m pro-guns; however, I am very much anti-guns-in-the-hands-of-stupid-people. To do this I feel we need to work very diligently on creating less stupid people. I have not exactly figured out HOW we are going to do that, but I have ideas. Lots and lots of ideas.

My response to the moronic quote above was simply:

If I had a gun and was there, that shooter would be dead. If more people had guns there would be less shootings, if any.

To which he replied:

2

He didn’t reply to my next Tweets:

Ah, incorrect. For example The CO theater shooter specifically picked the theater BECAUSE it was a gun free zone.

If everybody had guns, and nobody wanted to live there, at least the would have the power to make that true.

I would rather live where citizens were armed and able than live in a fantasy world where the insane are the only sane.

Its insanity to think gun control will stop the death.

It didn’t dawn on me until yesterday, but at the time I had no idea that the person I was tweeting to was actually an actor from one of my all-time favorite TV Shows, “Lie to Me” [Seriously broke my heart when that show ended]. @Brenden_Hines was one of my favorites. Kudos to your acting skills, you play an intelligent man very well. Clearly great acting! 😉

As a thinker, and a planner, its a scenario I have ran over in my head a million times over. Not ONE time I’ve run over this idea have I considered that the best option for me is to be not carrying SOME sort of weapon. That being said, its been about nine years or so since I’ve handled a gun, though I was raised with them.

Truthfully, I’ve avoided guns due to the circumstances I was in, and the PTSD [and TSD while I was in it] from a severely emotionally abusive [or as one friend put it, torturous] relationship that has affected me on many levels. I sold the S&W .380 my dad gave me when there were visitors over at my and my then boyfriends house to pick up various forms of non-prescription recreational … yeah, I’ll just be blunt. Drugs [Weed, Mushrooms – the plants. Nothing really crazier than that.]

I wasn’t comfortable knowing that people knew there was a weapon in the house. At that point, the gun didn’t scare me, but the people around me terrified the crap out of me. It DEFINITELY didn’t help that I took this boyfriend shooting and he didn’t understand, know, or care to know and understand “The Rules”. It is VERY important if you’re shooting with me that you live by these rules. If you wave the gun around like a dumbass, then it’s clear you don’t understand or respect what is in your hands and it very well MAY go off unintentionally.

Aside from all of that, the issue with the world is NOT the weapon itself, but rather the people who are weilding it. We don’t need to take away guns from people. If we took away things that killed people then life as we know it would be AWFUL.

In 2012 there were 34,080 deaths from automobile accidents.

So much for cars! Clearly we don’t know how to use those.

In 2012 there were 69,071 deaths from Diabetes.

Damn you sugar, you gave me the sweet, sweet taste of death.

In 2012 there were 31,672 deaths by firearm in the United States.

(Somehow that feels a little high to me…)

In 2012 there were 8,855 murders by firearm in the United States

(Ah, there. That feels a little better. Where the hell are the rest of those numbers coming from?!)

Total ADD Moment:
At this point in my research, the numbers are hurting my brain. It’s 1am. Why am I still awake?

The United States is the Number 1 country when it comes to Rank of Ownership, that is, we have the most number of guns per capita at 88.8 firearms for every 100 people [damn, I didn’t expect that number at ALL.]

While the United States may have a large ownership of guns, we don’t tend to carry them around. I won’t lie, having a gun next to my bed is incredibly comforting, but what good is it if I’m not there? What good is it if its on the nightstand safe when I’m in the mall parking lot at night? What good is it if I can’t carry a weapon from work to my car when I park in a dark alley? What good is it to not even allow me to carry it in my car at work if I have to drive to the city later that day?

If I’m in a parking lot in the middle of nowhere, hell– the middle of somewhere!–and a gun is pulled on me [likely by a criminal who already isn’t allowed to have them], what should I do?

What good does ownership of a weapon do if we’re not allowed to have it with us when we might need it the most?

There are a LOT of things to consider in The Great Gun Debate, but the biggest one to consider has nothing to do with guns at all, and it has EVERYTHING to do with our children. I feel this blog is really going to need to become more. . . s0 more t0 come.

Despite all of this, I was watching Suits last night and saw Brendan on TV. I giggled and pointed and squealed “Hey, that’s the guy that called me stupid!”.

Brendan, thank you for once again making me realize that there are people out there that are irrational. I would be happy to discuss this further, but I’m pretty sure you’ve already made up your mind to stay closed.

[Now, if only I could convince him to adlib my name, “Eternity” into one of his lines as an acknowledgement to agree to disagree… what? I’m a writer… Girls got to have hope somewhere, right?]

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on June 13, 2014, in politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

