The Rent IS too damn high.


Moving to Colorado I took a 10% pay cut in order to be able to actually find daycare for my child because apparently next to nobody watches kids on the weekends. I work 9:30a – 6:00pm, at a location that is about an hour away from my home in traffic. It’s only 30 minutes to get to work on the weekends. ALL my costs rose when I moved here. Car insurance went up $70/month because Denver is filled with terrible drivers, daycare went up $80/month, I drive farther to work so while gas is cheaper by the gallon, I use more of it. And the cost on my family life is torturous.

I work Friday – Tuesday which basically means that I get to see my daughter from 7:30a, when we wake up, until 8:30a when I drop her off at the school or sitters… and then again from 7pm when I pick her up until 8:30-9:00p when its time for her to go to bed on the days I work. On the days I don’t work I get to see her from 7:30a to 8:30a, and then pick her up at 3:30p and see her until 8:30-9:00pm. Doing the math, that’s about… 31 hours a week. I pay $125/week to somebody to be with her for about 31 hours a week.

The real rant to my post is that companies all over the Greater Denver Area are posting jobs that require skills that I don’t even come close to having because I don’t have the time or resources to go to school. Or desire. Did I forget desire? Honestly, it pains me to see people pay $500 for a class to have a teacher walk them through a book. Why on Earth can’t I just buy the book for its outrageous cost of $100 and save myself $500?! I’m smart. I’m smart enough to realize that I can learn MUCH more cost effectively by doing it myself. How does signing up for a ton of debt make somebody smarter than the person who refuses to do that?

But to top it off, they require all these specific skills like “5 years experience doing this skill I want you to have”, but then are stating they’re only going to pay $11/hour. EXCUSE ME?! If I put in 5 years experience doing ANYTHING then I’m close to becoming an expert in my field. . . Or at least expert enough to stick around. But then you’re going to have the GALL to pay me just $11/hour? NOBODY who has been working with any sort of competence for 5 years should be paid $11/hour. If after 5 years you’re still working an entry level position somewhere in a fast food restaurant then MAYBE you should examine your goals and what you’re doing to IMPROVE yourself to make YOURSELF worth more.

I have a great job [I mean, I’m brain fried and bored as all hell… but its a good job when I don’t want to stab myself in the eye or jump out a window. . . ] with pretty amazing benefits, and I make nearly $18/hour. . . But it isn’t enough to afford rent, daycare, car payment, gas, cell phone, and insurance. I worked a ton of OT this holiday season, bought no presents and I’m still freaking out about being able to afford car insurance.

It’s okay though. I got a huge discount on a gym membership. My inability to afford food or any sort of entertainment for myself will make that an investment that’s worth it because I will be forced to succeed. Don’t worry, I can afford to feed my kid. . . as long as I sacrifice one of those other things.

And yet… I would consider taking a pay cut to have the chance to work at DIA or any law firm because I NEED to be in a position that requires brain power.

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on January 10, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

