@esurance (and all insurance), YOU suck and support abusers


It really pretty simple. I was married to a man who abused me. A lot. He never hit me, but 5 years after leaving him I am still pretty emotionally traumatized.

But we finally divorced. Updating my car insurance to change from married to divorced, my car insurance will go up by $280 a year. Its ALREADY $1582 a year. More on that in a minute.

Is the person who decided that divorced people should pay more a Catholic?!

I retained rights to the child. I pay rent. I raised my credit score from 535 November 2013 to 640 in a year. I have no real debt…

I have the most basic insurance, too. My lending company requires a $500 deductible.

I had been paying $140 a month for slightly better coverage, but became broke and lowered my payment and coverage. I got one ticket and my rates inched right back to the same amount…

Tickets? Yes. I have two. May of 2012 I got caught going 70 in a 60 within a mile of the speed limit change. I paid my $114 ticket, and my car insurance soared $50 a month for 3 years. Going 10 over for a mile cost me a whopping $1,800.

10 over, not an unsafe speed on a Washington Freeway. Especially when the scenery and road type didn’t change. 15 over? Sure. 10? Nope. In a school zone? Hell, yeah.

Mind you, I have been driving now for about 16 years. In Seattle traffic. In snow, rain, ice… And I have NEVER been in a single accident or made a single claim. When my roommate hit my car in his driveway, I ate the cost and fixed it myself.

Now I have moved to Colorado, where nobody seems to be able to drive… And my rates are going to climb to $190 a month.

What.The.Fuck?!?

Insurance companies, I have used you for next to nothing and you proceed to constantly rape me. I think it is time to get a cheaper car JUST so I can pay you less.

Trying to tell me that leaving my abuser means I am LESS responsible… I am going to find somebody to marry just so we can have a cheaper rate, I swear.

Between taxes and insurance, half of my income is spent… I get nothing, and the stockholders all get richer.

No. Peace of mind ISN’T worth $5k a year…

About Eternity

34. Employed. Taken. Social Media Guru. Mom. Writer. Internet. Learning. Law. Politics. Philosophy. Planes. Flight. Tattoos. Piercings. Psychology. Love. God. Technology. Piercings. Conservative. Ish.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

